'The World Needs a Hero' & 'The System Has Failed' Reissued

On February 15, 2019, we will reissue The System Has Failed and The World Needs a Hero on CD, vinyl and digital platforms. You can pre-order both albums now at smarturl.it/MegadethStore

MEGADETH's ninth studio album, The World Needs a Hero was originally released in May 2001 and was critically acclaimed as a return to a heavier musical direction for the band. It charted at No. 16 on the Billboard 200 and received positive reviews across the music press.

Track listing

01. Disconnect 
02. The World Needs a Hero 
03. Moto Psycho 
04. 1000 Times Goodbye 
05. Burning Bridges 
06. Promises 
07. Recipe For Hate... Warhorse 
08. Losing My Senses 
09. Dread and the Fugitive Mind 
10. Silent Scorn 
11. Return to Hangar 
12. When 
13. Coming Home (CD Bonus Track)

* The full album has been newly remastered by Ted Jensen (GUNS N' ROSESMASTODONMACHINE HEADTRIVIUM). 
* Includes rare live bonus track "Coming Home" on the CD and digital versions. 
* First time ever on vinyl in North America. 
* CD has been out of print for five years.

MEGADETH's tenth studio album, The System Has Failed was originally released in September 2004. Following the direction set by its predecessor, The World Needs A Hero, it headed further into the bands thrashier past and was a hit amongst fans and critics alike. Debuting at No. 18 on the Billboard chart, the album received positive reviews across the board stating it as vital and solid.

Track listing

01. Blackmail the Universe 
02. Die Dead Enough 
03. Kick the Chair 
04. The Scorpion 
05. Tears in a Vial 
06. I Know Jack 
07. Back in the Day 
08. Something That I'm Not 
09. Truth Be Told 
10. Of Mice and Men 
11. Shadow of Deth 
12. My Kingdom 
13. Time / Use the Man (Live) (CD Bonus Track) 
14. The Conjuring (Live) (CD Bonus Track)

* The full album has been newly remastered by Ted Jensen (GUNS N' ROSESMASTODONMACHINE HEADTRIVIUM). 
* Includes rare live bonus tracks "Time/Use the Man" and "The Conjuring" on the CD and digital versions. 
* First time ever on vinyl in North America. 
* CD has been out of print for five years.

Related or Recent News

Megadeth is included on Revolver's 45 Most Anticipated Albums of 2019 list. Check the entire list here: bit.ly/2VoKfEC
Kiko talks about some of his favorite memories with Megadeth, including his first show with the band.
Congratulations to Andrew Halleen of East Peoria, IL on winning 1st place in the Megadeth Cyber Army Holiday Lyrics Contest with his Megadeth version of "The Crystals' "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town"! Andrew has won a Megadeth Peace Sells...But Who's Buying? 180-Gram Translucent Purple Vinyl LP signed by Dave Mustaine & David Ellefson. See Andrew's winning entry below. To the tune of The...
David Ellefson talks about the creation of "Holy Wars" in this club-first-exclusive video interview.
Congratulations to our Megadeth Christmas Card Contest 2018 Winners! 1st place: Dave Curbis - Chicago, IL USA GRAND PRIZE:• Phone call from Dave Mustaine on Christmas Day• Collectible Megadeth/Unibroue À Tout le Monde Awards Plaque signed by Dave Mustaine• Megadeth Rust in Peace 180-Gram Translucent Blue Vinyl LP & Peace Sells... But Who's Buying? 180-Gram Translucent Purple Vinyl LP...
New limited edition Megadeth Skate Deck featuring Vic Electric Chair artwork! smarturl.it/MegadethStore
A live-to-track performance for TV that we shot in Holland on the "Peace Sells..." tour of Europe 1987. Most videos are lip synced but this one was a combination live and the track playing behind us. We were actually on the Alice Cooper tour in the USA but EMI wanted us in Europe for two weeks where we headlined The Hammersmith Odeon London, Amsterdam, Hamburg and Paris. This video was shot...
Nothing says HAPPY HOLIDAYS like a the gift of Thrashing Through The Pacific on MEGACRUISE hosted by Megadeth! Learn more or book your cruise at: megacruise.com
ON SALE NOW: VIP Side Stage and Meet & Greet Upgrade Packages with Megadeth are now available for all dates on the No More Tours 2 tour with Ozzy Osbourne! megadeth.com/vippackages
It's not too late to win this axe! The Dean Guitars Killing Is My Business guitar giveaway rages on until December 11 at 11:59 p.m. PST. In honor of launching the Gimme Radio Brigade, and signed by Dave Mustaine himself, all you have to do is head over to found.ee/gimmemegadeth to enter!
Enter our annual Megadeth Christmas Card Contest! Send your original designs and you could win the GRAND PRIZE of a phone call from Dave Mustaine on Christmas Day, and a holiday pack chock-full of awesome prizes! Prizes also awarded for 2nd to 10th places! Winners will be picked by Dave Mustaine. Contest closes at 11:59 p.m. PST Friday, December 21, 2017. GRAND PRIZE:• Phone call from Dave...
Club members! Can you write a seasonal Megadeth song? Write a set of lyrics in your own words based on a holiday song that already exists. For example:(to the song of "Here Comes Santa Claus") Here comes MegadethHere comes MegadethRight down Megadeth laneetc... Write up a full set of new lyrics with Megadeth as your theme, using a holiday song as your base. Be sure to include the song name...
Join the Cyber Army
Welcome to the brand new Megadeth Cyber Army, Megadeth's official fan club. The MCA is a community where you can connect with other fans, access exclusive content, tour pre-sales, contests, interact with band members and much more. We’ve also relaunched with a​ brand new look along with some special merch packages. Join today!
11 Comment